Region of Oriente, Asturias

We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

What to see and visit in Asturias?

The Region of Oriente: it is located on the Eastern Coast and mountains. In it is located National Park of the Peaks of europe. Adventure sports throughout the region or enjoy its beaches. Everything is relatively close.

It is made up of the municipalities of: Cabrales, Cangas de Onís, Ribadesella, Ribadedeva, Colunga, Llanes, Onís, Amieva, Caravia, Arres, Peñamellera Alta, Peñamellera Baja, Ponga, Piloña.

Cabrales: Protected Landscape of the Sierra del Cuera. Pueblofamoso for its goat cheeses with Denomination of Origin. You can practice sports such as: climbing, ascents, hiking, trekking and 4x4 routes, paragliding, cross-country skiing, mountain biking, horse riding, caving ... Go up to Naranjode Bulnes, follow the Ruta del Cares and many other routes

  • Caves with rock paintings in: La Covaciella, El Bosque and LosCanes.
  • Roman road of Caoro: it was built to transport gold to Rome.
  • Medieval bridges: located throughout the municipality, in the parishes of La Olla in Berodia, La Jaya, Pompedri in LaMolina.
  • Church of Santa María de Llas: located in lasArenas. It was declared a Historic-Artistic Monument.
  • Church of Santa María Magdalena: located in Berodia.
  • Palace of Los Mestas and Cosío: located in Las Arenas. It is from the 17th century.

Cangasde Onís: Located in le Covadonga Valley (Lakes and sanctuary of Covadonga). Through its valley you can practice sports such as: canoeing and rafting on the Sella River; canyoning, caving, bungee jumping and Quad routes. See Cangas de Onis Pictures.

Lakes of Covadonga: they are 12 km from Covadonga, there are the Enol Lakes of 1070 meters. and LaErcina de1108 mts. Lakes Road is located on Mirador de la Reina. On July 25 a very popular pilgrimage is celebrated The Shepherd's Party.

Royal Site of Covadonga: place where Don Pelayo won the battle of Covadonga from the Muslims, the reconquest began and the kingdom of Astur originated in the year 722. You must visit: Fountain of the 7 pipes (from which you should drink, toss a coin into the lake and make a wish, according to tradition), the Deva River Waterfall, located on the mount of Ouseva; You should go up to kiss the Virgin at the Virgin of Covadonga Cave (18th century) through the cave of 101 steps (pilgrims climb it on their knees, as penance); A pre-Romanesque Asturian chapel in which Alfonso I, Don Pelayo with his wife Gaudiosa and his sister Ermesinda are buried. CaveAround the image, the battle is represented and there are the figures of the Asturian kings made by the goldsmith Juan José García. You can also visit: Basilica of Santa María la Real deCovadonga: it was built in 1877 to 1901 by the architect Federico Aparici, in neo-Romanesque style, the sculptures on its façade are by sculptor Mariano Benlliure; the College; the Hospedería, the House of Canons.

Romanesque route: for the municipality of Cangas de Onís: San Martín de Grazanes, San Pedro de Con, Santa María de Villaverde, Santa Eulalia de Abamia, San Pedro de Villanueva.

Pintu PalaceIt is from the 17th century, in the Baroque style and houses the Tax office.

Roman bridge: it is the most representative monument in the city. From its central part hangs a reproduction of the Victory Cross. Historical-Artistic Monument since 1931.

Hermitage of Santa Cruz: It is located in Contranquil. It was built in 473 on a primitive dolmen left from 3000 BC. C .. In the year 737, King Favila had this hermitage built to protect the Victory Cross. During the Civil War, part of the abdomen was exposed.

Cortés Palace: it is located next to the market. It is in the Renaissance style and is famous for having hosted Queen Isabel II and Jovellanos for one night during a visit they made to the area in 1858.

Ribadesella: Protected Landscapeor from the Eastern Coast, Landscape

Protected from the Sierra del Sueve. You can practice: canyoning, rafting, caving, trekking, mountain bike rental, hiking, kayaking, surfing and whitewater canoeing.

Tito Bustillo Caves: prehistoric caves, located on the outskirts of the city on Mount Ardines, 300 meters from the bridge over the Sella estuary. This is a set of 10 caves discovered in 1968, from the Paleolithic era.

Llanes: the town was founded around the year 1220. It is an important port and coastal and tourist town, which was declared a Municipality of Tourist Excellence in 1995. Protected Landscape of the Eastern Coast, in which the Natural Monument of the Jesters of Arenillasy Santiuste. Protected Landscape of the Sierra del Cuera. In them you can practice adventure sports: 4x4 routes, hiking, climbing, canoeing, caving diving, horse riding, quad routes, trekking, canyoning, bungee jumping, kayaks ...

Wall: its walled enclosure has 800 meters. It was built between the 13th and 15th centuries by Pere Daoz, and remained intact until the 19th century. Currently the northern part is preserved, a tower, the 4 gates: that of the Villa, that of the Castle, that of the Llagar and that of San Nicolás.

The Palace of the Valdés-PosadaIt is from the 17th century, it houses the current House of Culture.

Basilica of SantaMaría del Conceyu: built between the fourteenth and fifteenth century, it is in the Gothic style.

Parties and Events: They take place in summer to amuse the holidaymakers: Rally de LLanes, its traditional festivals (see section Parties).

Colunga: Protected Landscape of the Sierra del Sueve. Adventure sports. It can be seen throughout the municipality: old granaries, old mills, small churches ... It is very typical and beautiful.

Church of San CristóbalEl Real and the Chapel of Santa Ana.

Latres: town declared Historical Complex. They stand out:

  • Church of Santa María de Sábada.
  • Govents: parish where you can visit the Palaciode Gobiendes and its Church of Santiago.

Caravia: Protected Landscape of the Sierra del Sueve.

Piloña: Protected landscape of the Sierra del Sueve, walks, excursions along routes and practice of risk sports and adventure.

Sidrón Cave:archaeological remains.

Sanctuary of the Virgen dela Cueva.: located in front of the Campus de los Romeros. It is medieval, Romanesque in style.

Church of Santa María de Villamayor: it is Romanesque.

Torreón de Ledeña: it is from the low medieval period. Declared of National Tourist Interest.

Torredel Omedal in Miyares: It is from the late medieval. Declared of National Tourist Interest.

Put: Peloño Partial Natural Reserve

Ribadedeva: Protected Landscape of the Sierra del Cuera. Its capital Colombres.

Peñamellera Alta: Protected landscape of the Sierra del Cuera.

Peñamellera Baja: Protected landscape of the Sierra del Cuera.

Related Reading:
  • Regions of Avilés
  • Region of Caudal
  • Comarca of Eonavia
  • Gijón region
  • Nalón region
  • Narcea region
  • Natural Parks in Asturias
  • Routes and Hiking in Asturias
  • Camino de Santiago through Asturias
  • Asturias hotels
  • Telephone Numbers of Interest in Asturias
  • Beaches in Asturias
  • Horse riding in Asturias
  • Photos of Towns of Asturias

Video: Asturias vista por National Geographic II


  1. Truitestall

    But yourselves, do you understand?

  2. Nukpana

    Sorry to interrupt you, but I need a little more information.

  3. Moogudal

    bye ... some kind of stupidity

  4. Burneig

    Congratulations, what a great message.

  5. Crichton

    I can't take part in the discussion right now - there is no free time. But soon I will definitely write what I think.

Write a message

Previous Article

15 famous quotes in tribute to Simone de Beauvoir

Next Article

Cancer And Leo Compatibility